Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I deliberately saved my 100th post on my blog for some special news about Rafi! After a frustrating two years of trying to bring her back to work, this past year I decided to retire her. She had the winter off and on April 1st, we brought her back to Cathy’s Wellington Farm for a last attempt to get her back under tack. We are successfully walking her but she is done.

My various vets have often remarked that I ought to try to get a baby out of this very special schoolmistress. I always held back because of her over the knee conformation and subsequent degeneration of the collateral ligaments and arthritic changes in her front fetlocks. But three different vets said it wouldn’t stop them from breeding her! Between the advances in orthopedic shoe-ing of youngsters and picking a good stallion, it was felt I had a good opportunity to get a nice foal or two out of her.

After discussing it with everyone connected with Rafi, AND having the dearest husband on earth encourage me, I have decided to go for it! Rafi is a gift from the horse gods, having had an FEI career and has taught two amateurs, her former owner and myself, all the advanced movements through Grand Prix!!! She has the most sensible, kind, ideal, adult amateur temperament. She’s a beautiful, elegant mare with a great back and hind end. Lovely head and eye! And all that dressage ability….she could piaffe until the cows came home!

She has too much to share. I cannot bring myself to just retire her into a field as a pasture ornament.

I am taking the plunge.

Allow me to introduce you to:

WAMBERTO { Rousseau – Voltaire – Dutchboy} a 16.1 hand 2003 KWPN Stallion!

He’s gorgeous and I hope he will share his dressage talent, his shorter back, his gaits, his “GO” button {at least, slightly anyway!}. His babies are proving to be fairly easy to handle and train by all accounts. He received raves at his stallion testings for rideability and for character. Susanne Hassler, who recommended him to me, feels he is the most rideable stallion she has ever ridden.

And he’s beautiful! I have loved his sire Rousseau {Ferro – Roemer – Homerus} for years. Wamberto is just a smaller version throwing very trainable babies.

I have done all the pre-pregnancy exams on my beloved Raphaela. The green light came the other day. Yesterday, after days and days of researching stallions, I made my choice.

For the breeding enthusiasts who might be reading: Raphaela’s lineage: she’s a 16.3 hand 1994  Bavarian Warmblood mare by Piaster {Pik Bube} out of a Rasso {Ramiro} mare….

So feast your eyes on this great young stallion. I’ll get some videos up soon. And we’ll be breeding Rafi the next cycle!!!!