Tags

, , , , , ,

A question came up on Facebook in the Dressage for Amateurs Group. What do you like best about dressage? I was pretty happy with what I wrote, so I’m copying it into my blog for a rainy day! It’s good to have reminders of moments when you know how good your life is and how lucky you are to follow your dreams!

” I came to riding later in life than most people. I come from a disciplined, classical music background. Dressage was a natural for me. Before I even took my first official riding lesson, I knew I was going to pursue dressage. Never even thought about it twice. The first year of lessons, I was made to try western, hunters, I learned to jump, did hunter paces, trail rode. But I yearned for the dressage ring every moment. I love the demands, I love the development of the horse’s physique, I love the parallels to studying classical music and dance. But above all, the partnership developed between the rider and the horse is like no other type of riding…I really could go on and on. I will never reach the level of riding I aspire to, but I cannot imagine doing any other kind of riding. Or anything else, for that matter. I am a dressage rider!”

Another horsewoman on Facebook put up a post that I copied into my status today. I actually got a little chill when I read it. It resonated with me that much!

“An old Cherokee told his grandson, “My son, there is a battle between two wolves inside of us all. One is evil. It is anger, jealousy, greed, resentment, inferiority, lies and ego. The other is good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, humility, kindness, empathy, and truth.” The boy thought about it, and asked, “Grandfather, which wolf wins?” The old man quietly replied, “The one you feed.”

I find this so beautiful for some reason.

This is just good stuff I want to hang onto for the future…