Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It is amazing that this is the first day I’ve gotten to the horses since returning from Florida. Callista is finally back on track to Prix St. Georges. We’ll show her once at Fourth this summer as a warm up and then the Fall begins the FEI odyssey if all goes well. Keeping my fingers crossed!

Rafi is STILL unsound. She was trotted out about ten days ago showing a slight improvement. The vet returns in another ten days to re-evaluate and do some more shock wave therapy. I miss my ride on her dreadfully.

But Callista is really coming along and has decided that I just may be worthy enough to ask for more than a simple pony ride. Nothing like a mare!!! Especially a really smart one. Riding her today I felt like it had been a year since I had last ridden. But about 5 minutes in, I was becoming more fluent half halting! And she accepted my aids nicely. We’ve come a long way since the 5-year-old who threatened to buck when I asked for a canter depart. That said, we’ve got a huge road ahead of us. I’m looking forward to next winter though. I think I may get a competition horse out of her yet!

Charly is doing well and has become an uncle or godfather to a foal that he witnessed being born. I’m hoping for a photo of said god child soon.

Arie is a California dude now. He is at Stefan and Shannon Peters’  farm, learning to behave for his new owner, Kassie Barteau. They are a match made in heaven. I am very at peace with my sale of him. I make the very bold prediction that they will be a pair to watch over the coming years.

Hopefully my riding time will increase now that summer is upon us….cherish the ride!!!