Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday went very well! Rafi and I simply returned to basics…I lowered my expectations of her and placed other demands on my self. I spent most of our hour in the half seat, some posting and just working on my position. My right leg still wants to creep up…first the ankle, then the knee….before I know what happens the hip flexor does its thing and my quad begins to contract…..extremely interesting phenomenon! And one, I suspect, I shall be working to counteract for the rest of my riding career.

I did not run the test but did keep Rafi forward and relaxed……I felt SO much better at the end! I’m running the test on the ground  and on paper. I may have arrived at a more balanced acceptance of my readiness for this coming show.

It’s the first show at this level and due to horse injuries, my first in nearly two years…..as long as I give it an honest attempt and ride my best in that moment, it simply doesn’t matter how well OR how badly it turns out…

So I will go ahead and do it. And learn from the experience…