Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The phone rings at dinnertime. “Hello,” I say and this vaguely familiar male voice say hello back and proceeds to say, “You know that horse of yours we were supposed to pick up in Jersey this morning? We couldn’t find the barn….” Dead silence ensues at my end of the line. This isn’t computing. Just about the same moment I conclude I’m getting set up, the voice at the other end starts laughing…it’s Kevin, my horse transport guy having fun with the client. The Christmas Horse is safe, well and traveling in style, barreling toward me down 95…he’ll get here lunch time tomorrow.

I am so psyched. Finally got to the barn today and rode Rafi….she was just great. She had four days off and I’d had about 45 days away from riding with the exception of my sales ride of Aramo. Felt like my timing was rather slow and she wanted lean on my hands a bit…but I just kept suppling and sending her forward. Great ride.

Didn’t have time to ride Callista as my mom was arriving and I had to leave but did watch her go! She’s in a new place, coming up beautifully through the shoulders and withers both in the trot and canter…She’s definitely lightened her front end yet again…Cathy got some gorgeous changes….she schooling the three’s and four’s and throwing in the odd two’s…Callista is really catching onto this very quickly…the lateral work is better and her canter pirouette may be her party piece in the end. So light on her feet and through her back today. I hated leaving as I would have loved to have gotten on and felt this new body language for my self! Sure was exciting to watch!!! Fourth Level will definitely be possible by winter’s end…

So tomorrow is my big day….I’ll have time to ride both horses and of course Arie will be here…..Hope I don’t forget my camera…